Steyning was a thriving community owned by King Alfred the Great long before the Norman invasion.
Much of the busy town centre has been designated a conservation area in an effort to preserve the beautiful buildings which reflectnearly every architectural period.
Towards this end the bypass, opened in 1981, now takes heavy through traffic around the town.
Steyning rejoices in such unusual street names as Mouse Lane, Sir George`s Place, Dog Lane, Shooting Field and Sheep Pen Lane.
It boasts the fifteenth century Steyning Grammar School, the twelfth century church of St Andrew`s, and a green where witches were once burned.
It occupies an area of a little under 1500 hectares and has a population of around 5470.
Part of the parish of West Grinstead, Partridge Green has expanded over the years and much of the population is concentrated within the village.
With grateful thanks to West Sussex Newspapers Ltd for the use of these notes from their Horsham District Citizens Guide.